When the treatment stops…

• November 4, 2010 at 12:09 am

Hi everyone,

I had GBS in 2006, then CIDP. I’ve been treating it with IVIG and prednisone (IV) for 12 months, stopped two months ago. Today I cannot walk!!
      Arms and legs are those of a multiple sclerosis patient. In the period of 2 weeks it started to get worse and worse, I can’t even stand up if I sit on the floor.

I would like to know if anyone has gone through something similar.

thanks for any help.

Marcio

• Anonymous
      November 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

I have experienced set backs, but not to the degree you describe. I hope you can recover your strength, and get your condition evaluated.. Take care, Deanop

• Anonymous
      November 4, 2010 at 9:59 am

I start getting worse after about 3-4 weeks without treatment. Not as dramatically as you are describing though, more a slow descent.

• November 4, 2010 at 11:12 am

Marcio,
      Why did your treatments stop? Your present clinical presentation will be proof enough for the doc to reume treatment. More than likely, a loading dose or two will be necessary until you stabalize. Unfortunately, treatments might be a lifetime necessity. Other options include more aggressive measures that can arrest the cidp, but they too come with their own set of complications further down the road. Sometimes it is a matter of the lesser of two evils. Many have seen good results with cytoxan, others have done the stem cell harvesting at Northwestern and regained their lives. These are difficult decisions that take great thought and research. Good luck to you. Others who have experienced the other treatments besides ivig/steroids will be able to better answer any questions you might have about the protocol. Currently, my 13 y/o is doing maint. doses of ivig, we seem to be holding….but is that enough? For now I say yes, but the other treatments are always in the back of my mind!!

• November 4, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Thanks to all for your kind replies.