Numbness

• Anonymous
      May 24, 2006 at 9:13 am

Hello,
      I am no longer progressing. I have been off IVIG’s and all medications for the syndrome for 2 1/2 yrs. now. When the IVIG’s were stopped, I asked my neurologist what signs I should look for if I needed it and he said I would know, it took me about a year to develope that instinct, but my gut feelings do tell me that I’m not relapsing.

Now, for my question, is the degree of numbness I feel something to be concerned about? Sometimes I think I get normal numbness over syndrome numbness. The numbness is 24/7. I can tolerate it during the day by having busy hands and busy mind, but my numbness can be severe at night. Is there any kind of a medication that works and will cut into the numbness? I have to be careful about what I take though because I have two ulcers.

• Anonymous
      May 24, 2006 at 10:57 am

Hi,

Have you tried Neurotin. Maybe some of your numbness is actually pain if it is that bothersome to you.

Pam K.

• Anonymous
      May 24, 2006 at 1:38 pm

I am one of the few, or maybe the only one, who never had “PAIN, pain”, so I was never prescribed any. My neurologist told me that neurontin would not relieve numbness, so he never recommended it.

• Anonymous
      May 24, 2006 at 2:13 pm

Hi, Liz.

I went for years with no pain, only to have it start a year ago (although it’s never been very bad). I tried gabapentin (neurontin) and found that in my case it didn’t do anything but make the symtoms worse. It certainly didn’t help with numbness; neither have IVIg or steriods. But I’m considered to have a progressive form of CIDP in the sensory nerves (with a relapsing form in the motor nerves), and from what my neuro tells me, nothing really helps in the progressive forms of the disorder.

So much fun!

Deb

• Anonymous
      May 24, 2006 at 3:13 pm

[QUOTE=codystanley]Hello,
      I am no longer progressing. .[/QUOTE]