New to Forum: undiagnosed

• Anonymous
      September 24, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Hi, everyone. I’ve been reading posts in the Forum for a few months now. I am undiagnosed. I have been suffering paralysis, severe pain, and many other symptoms since my last flu shot in November 2007. I am experiencing some recovery, but have had several relapses, one in late winter, and 2 this summer. I have all the symptoms of GBS, but after contacting medical staff half a dozen times regarding my condition, I got no answers or treatment from them, so I’ve been left to deal with it alone.

Currently, I am able to walk with a rollator outdoors and a walking cane indoors. I’ve had ongoing trouble with nerve spasms throughout my body, and muscle cramps–mostly in my feet and legs. The muscle weakness is constant, but I try to modify it with rest periods, so I can be strong enough to do things. I am a music teacher. I’ve lost about 2/3 of my former ability, but have retrained myself to speak and read again, although concentration, comprehension and memory problems persist. I have ongoing vision disturbances.

I’ve really appreciated the sense of humour on this site; it has done me a lot of good, and takes my mind off my troubles. I have the same symptoms as people here do, unfortunately, and can relate to what people say and how they feel. I am trying my best to deal with all of it, as I know you all do too. I don’t feel so alone now. I’ll write again soon. Bye for now.

• Anonymous
      September 24, 2008 at 11:36 pm

hi donna, my name is alice and i got sick in december 07, one month later than you. in my case i was diagnosed pretty early on with cidp — based on your post it might sound like you had a bout of gbs, not sure…
      if you’d like to be in touch privately feel free to contact me. perhaps we can be of support to one another — i’ve been doing much better on a prednisone treatment.
      to know my kind of beginning to end story, feel free to read my posts.