New GBS Member – in Recovery

• March 12, 2008 at 9:36 pm

Hi All,

I am SO thankful I found your website! I was diagnosed with GBS on 1/9/08. I was immediately admitted to the hospital and received the ivIG treatment. I also had a lumbar puncture and EMG, confirming the GBS. After a week in the hospital (breathing was never affected) I was released to my family and home.

I KNOW that I had a “mild” episode of GBS, or that because I received treatment so early in the progression of the syndrome, my symptoms were not as severe as they could have been. Because I am a teacher, I started a blog for my students and family so that they could keep up with my progress <http://tom-merrill.blogspot.com>.

I have returned to work, but still struggle with day-to-day issues: fatigue, tingling in my extremities, and general weakness. There are “good days” and “bad days.” Earlier this week,I thought I was having a relapse because it felt like the whole “tingling” thing was starting all over again. I went to see my primary care doctor. He noted that I was the strongest that he had seen me since the hospital and suspected that what I was feeling was my nerves remylinating.

I am often frustrated my the slowness of my recovery (I have run two marathons in the past two years…) but find that I am humbled by stories of other GBS/CIDP patients on this site.

Thanks, all, for providing this excellent resource. I look forward to reading more!

Tom Merrill

• Anonymous
      March 12, 2008 at 10:24 pm

Hi Tom,