My question about the flu shot

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2007 at 11:24 am

I work in a hospital and they give out the flu shot free of charge to all employees. I have always gotten the flu shot in the passed and when I asked my nuero if I could get one he said yes. I am too scared to do so.
      WHY would he say it’s ok ?

Stacey

• October 15, 2007 at 12:48 pm

Hi,

I guess the neuro would say it is ok because he/she believes it to be ok. Many of us get the shot annually and many of us don’t. I have had cidp for 14 years and have had the flu shot each year with no problem. Each of my neuros (4) have said I should get it. One bluntly said “flu will kill you but you already have CIDP which won’t kill you”. I found out the hard way a year ago what an infection will do to my cidp and I don’t want another one. I will get the flu shot again.

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2007 at 1:17 pm

NOT have a flu shot if you have CIDP is if you are receiving IVIG.
      IN the fine prints of the ‘prescribing information’ of whatever brand you are on, it clearly states that ‘immunizations should not occur either 6 months before or after any infusion. That can put some of us in an iffy spot, when on a non-regular infusion schedule.
      Honestly, I don’t think many prescribing neuros are ‘up-to-date’ on that fine print? This doesn’t mean that they are negligent, it’s just something WE have to be diligent and concerned about.
      I’d call the IG manufacturer and ask about your specific circumstances…just to be on the safest side possible.
      Hope this helps?

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2007 at 11:41 pm

When my neuro and I discussed the flu shot, he said it would be ok, but he then went on to sharing all the possible things that could go wrong. IN the end he left the decision to me and I chose not to and he respected my wishes. My internist did the same. I believe they think it is ok, but they also realise we run risks in doing so.