my dad has GBS

• Anonymous
      October 4, 2007 at 8:31 am

I am new to this thread so forgive me if I get long winded or leave something out. Last Friday morning, my dad complained that his tooth felt funny. He went to the dentist who sent him to an oral surgeon who told him to make an appointment and that he may need root canal. By Friday evening, when my mom saw him, his entire left side of the face was sagging, although he did not notice it. My mom immediately brought him to NYU Medical Center ER and after doing a number of tests, admitted him thinking he had a stroke. He was coherent, making jokes, working on his Treo, a bit scared but comfortable. My mom left him there at about 1am.

By about 9am Saturday morning, his tongue was completely numb and he was having difficulty forming words. His left arm was almost entirely immobile and his right shoulder was beginning to get weak. While the doctors were discussing his symptoms my mom mentioned that he had had are really bizarre stomach thing the week before. Bells went off and they were fairly sure that it was GBS. By 1pm, he was having extreme difficulty clearing the mucus out of his throat and very little movement in his right arm. They moved him to the ICU rather quickly. By 2pm, they decided to intubate him, recognizing that this was progressing fast. When I arrived from NC at 4pm, he was heavily sedated. They lowered the sedation soon after I arrived to wake him up and check his neuro function. He, at that time, was able to open his eyes, move his head yes or no, and move his left foot. They then decided to give him IVIG. By about 7pm, he was unable to move his left leg or his head. He was able to open both eyes and blink once for yes, twice for no. Over night, his fever spiked at 101.something but came down in the morning.