first time for plasmaphoresis. HELP!!

• Anonymous
      January 30, 2008 at 5:51 am

hello everybody…. my neurologist wants me to try a few rounds of plasmaphoresis… im on IVIg every month, seems to be holding things at bay, but ive noticed some new, strange numbness in the feet so he wants to try this before suggesting any of the immunosuppressant drugs with nasty side effects…. can anybody tell me about the procedure? is it painful? do they use IV needles that are the size of a garden hose for this?? any input would be appreciated. thanks…. steven

• January 30, 2008 at 11:54 am

I have no experience with pp, but I did want to let you know that you are lucky your doc is following the reccommended protocol. How wonderful he has your best interest at heart. I am sure others with pp experiences will reply soon. Good luck to you.
      Dawn Kevies mom

• Anonymous
      January 30, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Hello:

I had about 20 sessions of pheresis. If you are lucky, like me, and they are able to use peripheral access in veins in each arm, then you will experience a little more pain than a normal IV needle, the needle gauge is definitely larger.

I had a fair amount of scarring and bruising from the needles. The procedure itself is painless, but you can get chilled. I typically had a pretty significant drop in blood pressure at the completion of each exchange, and would take about 10-15 minutes of sitting up, drinking some juice, eating a cookie, etc. to get it back up to around 100/70.

It did tend to wipe me out a little bit for the remainder of the day, but at the time I was having a serious CIDP flare, so I was experiencing lots of fatigue anyways. The pheresis itself was of modest benefit.

I’m in my mid 40’s, and besides CIDP, in good health.

Best of luck to you.

• Anonymous
      January 30, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Steven,