Finally getting treatment and a Help! request

• Anonymous
      August 12, 2008 at 12:19 pm

I’m scheduled to receive IVIg starting on September 2nd. It looks like it’s going to be done through the outpatient surgery center at the hospital I got my lumbar puncture through. It’s scheduled once a day for five days. I’m really hoping I won’t get much in the way of side effects, especially since I can’t premedicate in the usual way. I’m allergic to Tylenol, aspirin, Motrin, and Alleve. I’m not quite sure how my husband and I are going to work out getting me to and from the hospital each day but I suppose we can cross that bridge when we get there.

Now, on to the help request! The school my son goes to is not wanting to admit him if he doesn’t get his vaccines. With me having CIDP, I have serious concerns about my son getting GBS as a result of the vaccines. I’m looking for websites and studies to back up my worries. This is the condensed version of what I originally posted in the “Vaccine Reactions” forum. You can view the complete post here: http://www.gbs-cidp.org/forums/showthread.php?p=63511#post63511

• Anonymous
      August 12, 2008 at 12:49 pm

I was very worried about getting my five year old vaccinated also. I think it’s a personal decision and I totally understand your frustration. Connor did get all of his vaccines and he is fine. But again, you have to do what you feel is right.

One option about pre-meds for the ivig is prednisone. My first neuro would have me take 2 the morning of treatment. I believe that was 20mg. Be sure to drink lots of water.

Is there any way you can have a home health agency do your IVIg at home ? I never knew anything about it until I came here. I just had my first one at home and it was so much better. It may depend on your dr’s preference. Something to ask about, tho.

Good luck with everything.

Well wishes,
      Stacey

• Anonymous
      August 12, 2008 at 1:13 pm