dental work precautions?

• Anonymous
      March 25, 2008 at 2:20 am

Have an abcessed tooth that needs to be pulled 😮 😮 and some other dental work that needs to be done and was wondering if there are any special precautions that need to be taken. Dentist has me on some oral antibiotics but has never treated anyone with cidp or anyone that’s on the insanely high pred. doseage I’m on (400mg bi-weekly) and is going to do a consult with my neuro. beforehand but I was curious if anyone has any pointers that I can pass along. Thanks for any insite. 😎

• Anonymous
      March 25, 2008 at 10:58 am

leave a message for your neuro about this all. Do more than ASK!
      Since I’ve not been on pred. I’ve no experience there, but the whole immune compromised aspect can make things need a more cautious approach.
      I’m on IVIG and the TIMING of the infusions and the surgery were key to getting the most ‘punch’ from the IG and also to keep infections from settling in. I worked to have the dental surgeon and the neuro communicate together. Luckily the surgeon had had experience w/MS folks and I was his first CIDP patient and he was very cautious and careful. In my case it was a whole root extraction for a molar that couldn’t be saved.
      Since your dentist has no experience in this quarter? I’d think appealing to the neuro should help things go smoothly. I sure hope so!
      I didn’t have to take any anti-b’s before or after the surgery as I was on the IVIG…and many anti-b’s really don’t help us when on either pred or IG infusions. You have every right to be cautious about this…Ask questions and I hope someone w/more experience can add to my comments.
      Good Luck!

• Anonymous
      March 25, 2008 at 1:59 pm