Bilateral foot drop and unstable standing

• January 23, 2018 at 5:23 pm

I suffered from GBS in 1989 at the age of 9. eventually hospitalized,recovery started after 35 days and continued for three years. since then I had gait abnormalities. recently got to know that it is bilateral foot drop.now at the age of 36 I feel instability while standing.The doctor prescribed Pregablin and Escital0pram with multivitaminOmaea3. Is foot drop curable now? I am a professor feeling difficulty in standing and tiredness while delivery of lecture. should i continue with this job or quit

• GH
      January 23, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Are you saying your foot drop condition is new or getting worse? If so, you should see a neurologist.

Ankle-Foot Orthotics (AFOs) can compensate for foot drop. Modern AFOs are molded from a single piece of plastic and made to fit your feet. They are thin enough to wear inside ordinary shoes.

• February 8, 2018 at 4:44 pm

I feel like it’s my life you were writing about. Same time frame except I was 36 at the time. I felt great until a year ago. My ankles started getting weaker and foot numbness went extreme. I started falling all the time. Long story short I now have to use a walker all the time. My neuropathy had all but disappeared and is back now in my big toe. Gabapentin to the rescue! I have been to a number of neurologists because I have bouts of vertigo. No answers from any of them. They enrolled me in vestibular pt with no good results. What do you feel the pregablin and escitalopram do to help you? So good to read your story.

• February 14, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Thanks Mackay,the pregablin and escitalopram that I took over a month helped me improved my attitude towards life and movement of big toe by 10-15% than earlier. I am also in relaxing mood as I took leave from work to take some rest and could proceed with some good prognosis.

• February 14, 2018 at 1:17 pm