Stiffness anybody?

• January 21, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Hello,

When I stop my IVIGs for just about 30 days I feel the tendons in my legs become stiff, very rigid. Specially near the Calcaneous.
      Anybody fell the same?

Cheers,

Marcio

• Anonymous
      January 22, 2011 at 8:27 pm

I have been receiving IVIG 1x/week for 7 months and in the last few months have been experiencing a lot of stiffness in both legs. My legs are so stiff – it reminds me of my mother, who suffered from Parkinson’s Disease. Dr. gave me a new/additional diagnosis code regarding it. Not sure if this is a side effect from IVIG or from a new (additional) medical condition. Awaiting extensive blood tests to determine cause of CIPD and possible other diseases, including my stiff legs. Will also probably do a nerve biopsy (which I have avoided so far) – may better inform my treatment regiment.

• January 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Hello Patty,

Dr said if I want to know what causes it we need a biopsy. I’m not doing that for know.
      I’m in hospital again, 3-day IVIG.

Thanks,

Marcio

• Anonymous
      January 25, 2011 at 8:10 pm

About 2/3rds of the way thru my first of 2 days infusions? My ankles suddenly go AHHHHH! Almost to the point of being floppy. Win or lose? Dunno.
      As for why? As I become ‘due’ for my next infusion, I tend to move around less and less, generally- and that increases edema [resulting from other issues] which builds up body debris in the muscles and vascular systems.
      Massage of the affected areas can help, but avoid the heating pad at all costs! It was using a heating pad for one of those other issues that aggravated THIS problem and especially now.
      Only thing I’ve found that helped has been interval exercises stretching and contracting these areas using a theraband or the like.