Should I Get Another Emg Or Ncv?

• Anonymous
      August 20, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Hello Family,
      I keep going back and forth in trying to decide whether I would benefit by getting another EMG or NCV or both. I am no longer progressing with CIDP. I have remained stable; no signs of the return of progression or a relapse; for almost four years now. I no longer need IVIG’s or any kind of medications for this syndrome.

The last time I had an EMG and NCV was about 2002. If I had one or both of these tests done now, would they confirm that I am healing or show in any way how much? Would they show whether myelin has regrown? Which one should be done?

I know what these tests are like. I don’t like them, but I can tolerate them. I just don’t want to put myself through them again unless they will show something positive.

• Anonymous
      August 20, 2007 at 3:16 pm

I haven’t had either one of these tests done since July of 2002, & you know how much I have changed in my ability level. Like you, I have been stable since the fall of 2003, but I know what I am able to accomplish each day & no test will change that. Why put yourself through all of that when you yourself already know your current situation better than any doctor or test?

• Anonymous
      August 20, 2007 at 4:44 pm

I am going to see a new neuro in a couple of days. If she wants to do another EMG I’ll say no. My last and first one was two years ago. It was used to [U]diagnose [/U]my disease. Unlike you my symptoms continue to progress. I don’t need another EMG to confirm the obvious. There are enough tests to check my symptoms, safety pin, tuning fork etc. plus my subjective observations.

I agree with Pam. Why subject yourself to painful tests to confirm the obvious.

• August 20, 2007 at 5:43 pm

Hi Liz!