Seizures

• Anonymous
      December 12, 2007 at 2:12 pm

Hi,

I’m new at this so I really don’t know too much about how this all works.
      I just have a question. I was diagnosed with GBS in Dec. 2005. I was very lucky that my neurologist knew what it was and started me on treatments right away. He has since moved away and the neurologist that I have now says everything I have is from stress. I am on neurotin. I still get numbness in my legs and lips. What I need to know is has anyone ever had a seizure that somehow was from the residual effects of GBS. Sunday at a Christmas dinner the choir was singing and my right eye started twitching and my lips went completly numb. Before I knew it I was on the floor and my whole body was twitching. It lasted for about 10 or 15 minutes. They took me to the hospital but I wasn’t able to talk for about 4 hours. I just couldn’t get the words to come out. My neurologist says it’s stress. I was just wondering if this ever happened to anyone else.

Angie

• Anonymous
      December 12, 2007 at 7:39 pm

“Stress” is what they say when they really don’t know. I am not saying that stress cannot make residuals worse, but stress is NOT always the reason for our weird residuals. There are a LOT of us here having strange things happen to our bodies with no apparent cause, other than our GBS/CIDP histories.

• Anonymous
      December 12, 2007 at 11:29 pm