Question for going back to work

• October 14, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Hello Everyone!

It’s been 5 months since being struck with GBS (May/2013). I work as a safety consultant and most of our clients are contractors. My job requires me to do job sites inspections. When I first was diagnosed with GBS, I was paralyzed from the neck down. Now I have use of both my arms, although still have trouble with range on my left arm (I’m right handed). I can walk now although my feet are still numb. Knees are not as strong as before. I don’t have foot drop. When I stand for prolonged periods, I feel like there’s a lot of pressure being built up in my feet. I know that everybody’s GBS is not the same, but what is the average length of time someone with GBS stays home before going back to work? Btw, I want to go back to work in January 2014. How long before you went back to work?

Mahalo,

Spencer

• GH
      October 14, 2013 at 8:24 pm

I was also paralyzed below the neck. I could have gone back to work at a desk job in about a year and a half, but I had reached full retirement age by then, so did not. I actually retired during my hospitalization, knowing I would not quickly recover. Although I walk fairly well now about three years out, I would not want a job which required being on my feet for extended periods. My feet still hurt all the time, the more so when I am on them for awhile. You may experience increasing pain in your feet as they come back, so that might be a factor. My knees are still wobbly, so I can’t run, and I feel they may never improve.

It just depends on how you feel. As I recovered, I always felt I knew my limitations. At times, I tended to overexert myself, which is not recommended. You will know if you are overdoing it. By the way, I am classified as CIDP, but my pattern was more like GBS than most CIDP cases.

• October 14, 2013 at 8:56 pm