Physical Therapy 2 years later…anybody?

• Anonymous
      October 31, 2006 at 2:02 pm

I had home care and physcial therapy 2 years ago when first diagnosed. Since I am a Physical Education Teacher I have a knowlege of exercise and muscle tone. I was very faithful to my “homework” suggested by the therapist for over a year. Kept a daily log at the suggestion of a friend. When I would think that 5 minutes on a treadmill was pointless when I had walked 2 miles a day, 5 days a week pre-GBS I found the journal to be quite helpful. Months later, as I compared entries, I was logging in 20 minutes at a much faster pace. Definite progress.
      A family illness became my cause and I later found my life consumed with caring for my dying father. I stopped my home exercises completely and hadn’t been to the therapist in some time.

I recently had minor, out-patient surgery and it has taken weeks to get back on my feet. I’m once again, feeling the dreaded residuals. The fatigue factor has always been there, but weaknees, weight loss, lack of muscle tone and strength are gone.
      My primary care Dr. suggested going back to physical therapy and I have no problem with that. Except for the time and expence. I am working very hard at keeping up with my part time teaching position and really don’t want to give it up. Most days, it’s the best mental therapy I can get.

Has anyone else gone back to physical therapy long after the original ‘recovery’ (I use that term loosely)? If so, I love to hear your thougts on how effective it was.

Thanks for listening,
      JayDee

• Anonymous
      November 1, 2006 at 8:23 am

I was in physical therapy from November 1999-December 2000 although GBS onset was December 1998. Did not receive pt until a year after onset because the head of pt unilaterialy made the decision I would never walk again–she was incorrect.