New to this but an old GBS

• Anonymous
      September 12, 2006 at 10:04 am

Wow! I didn’t know that there were so many of you out there. I first had GBS (Miller Fisher variant too) back in 1978 and then again in 1982. There wasn’t much info then. I had gone to the Outer Banks on vacation at the end of the school year. (I’m a teacher) and I had had a sore throat. My eyes were really bothering me. That was my first symptom. By the second day of vacation I was seeing double and not walking too well. I went to the local clinic and the doctor was not sure what was wrong…maybe food poisoning? The next day I went back to the doctor because my sympoms were worsening. He sent me to the University of North Carolina Hospital in Chapel Hill, N.C. By the time I reached there I could not walk. They were unsure of what to do but since I was having breathing problems they put me in ICU which I made my home for the next two weeks. They told me they were not sure of what was wrong but thought they could keep me alive. They did several tests including two spinal taps and finally concluded that it was GBS Miller Fisher variant. I was completely paralyzed, my eyes would not move or close…they were completely separate from each other. My system was rapidly closing down.
      Soon though the decline stopped and I eventually progressed to a room on the neurological floor even though I was still paralyzed. I was a rare case for them and had many medical visitors. Gradually movement came back but slow.