Neurontin and Menopause

• July 11, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Hello to the Ladies!

I am in the beginning stages of menopause and have infrequent hot flashes. I read this article on the Internet:

[url]http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/news/fullstory_35796.html[/url]

and thought it quite interesting. I have been off Neurontin for awhile but with the onset of hot flashes (which absolutely suck!) Iā€™m thinking about getting back on to see if it relieves some of the sweating. I would like some GBS expert opinions.

Thanks!

• Anonymous
      July 11, 2006 at 8:10 pm

I’m not a expert but I was taken off of hormones and started taking tomoxifin the same day. That has been 2 and a half years ago. I was taking Neurontin the whole time. It has only been in the last 6 months that I didn’t sweat all the time. It was so bad I waould shower 3x a day and change the sheets daily. Now I just feel like I have a temp of 101-102 all the time. It really is better.

I know hot flashes are differant for every women, just like GBS. I’ll sweat thank you.:D

• Anonymous
      July 12, 2006 at 12:55 am

Hi Nancy, i use to have the hot flashes and sweats really bad. i’m in surgical menopause, i use to use estrasorb creme everyday. that did great until i got my paralysis events and could not do the creme on the legs thing everyday. i take neurontin now and i might have a very slight hot flash once in awhile. i still haven’t found anything to change my @#^*& attitude!!;) keep trying different things, you’ll find the right combination soon!:)

• July 12, 2006 at 8:56 am

Thanks for the responses. I’ve also noticed that when I’m “havin’ a flash” that where I have neuropathy, the nerve pain feels like a million red hot pokers. šŸ˜® Getting old is the pits and I’m just in my late 40’s!

• Anonymous
      July 12, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Hi Nancy,