More Pain

• Anonymous
      June 12, 2008 at 4:31 pm

My pain and numbness and burning seems to be getting worse the longer it has been since I got GBS . I went to my Dr. and he increased my meds said it wasn’t a relapes and that I would have to either take some stronger meds like oxycontin or he could up my lyrica and see if that works.Has anyone here had this happen to them ?Please give me your opions ,I am ready to just give up it’s been two years of h#ll and im tired.

• Anonymous
      June 13, 2008 at 1:19 am

I wish i could offer you advice, but i am new to the gbs thing. I do want to tell you though, that we all are here for you. Do you have somene to talk to? Are you satisfied with your doctor? Have you tried a “Pain Clinic”, massage, acupuncture, etc.? I haven’t been able to do anything for my illness because im pregnant, so i understand (in a way) your frustration. I have only been going through this for 7 months though. Maybe you could send a private message to Jerimy, or another senior member, as they are very knowledgible. If there is anything i can do, please let me know – even if it is just to talk, pray, anything. Keep your chin up;)

Take Care,
      Jamie

• Anonymous
      June 13, 2008 at 6:43 am

George,
      I have CIDP but my pain comes and goes as well. You didn’t say what dosage of Lyrica you get. It might not be a full dose yet. Don’t give up. No one should have to live in pain. Jamie had a lot of good suggestions as well. I know it took me over 6 months to get my drugs in order. Personally I take Cymbalta and neurontin. This combo doesn’t work for everyone. I guess what I am trying to tell you is sometimes its trial and error as to what works but once you find it you will be glad you tried. Take Care.

• Anonymous
      June 13, 2008 at 8:53 am