IVIG vs. Immuno Suppress Drugs

• May 5, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Hi, I am new to CIDP. I have had my loading dose of IVIG (Gammunex) exactly one month ago today. I had my follow up appointment today with my doctor’s assistant to discuss my post IVIG month. I think I got good results from the IVIG infusion. Initially I had the bad headache for about 36 hours but after that I just had some mild fatigue for about a week. But after the fatigue went away I felt good. Almost like I felt before I had CIDP. I joked with my RN saying I was starting to question if I really had CIDP because I felt so much like my old self. Well starting a few days ago I started to notice the tingling in my feet and the numbness on the right foot again. So we decided to schedule my second IVIG treatment next week. And probably go for an infusion every 4 weeks going forward for maintenance dose. My question is this. She mentioned that some patients with CIDP go on immunosupressent (cancer) drugs in very low doses to keep their CIDP in check. Then they do not need the IVIG. She said some of the newer drugs do not suppress the immune system so low that you are always getting sick. That this would be a possibility if I did not want to keep getting IVIG every four weeks. What is worse for you, the IVIG (with the possible side effect of kidney damage) or the immunosupressent drugs (not sure what side effects these can cause). Does anyone treat their CIDP with only immunosupressent drugs? Is it working so that youd don’t need IVIG? Are cancer drugs dangerous, like can they cause other problems down the way. All this is so new to me. I search and search on the internet for information regarding CIDP treatment but everything is so confusing at times. I have a very mild case right now and would like to keep it where it is and not progress with more damage.

• Anonymous
      May 5, 2011 at 7:04 pm