I played golf

• Anonymous
      July 10, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Many of you know I was a golf Pro and that CIDP took that from me. It took my career as a Club Professional, I worked at a Golf Course, gave lessons, ran the Club, sold merchandise, etc. It also took my ability to play ay a competitive level. I was never good enough to play on the PGA Tour with the big guys, but I could play OK.

After CIDP, I could not swing and stand up. I lost my balance and could not swing confidently. I never knew if I would fall down. I lost my distance, my accuracy, my desire, all of it. five or six years passed.

Last fall, my old Club called me on the phone. They were getting rid of their Pro and wondered if I could help sort out the books until they could hire a new one. I told them PART TIME only. and they let me work 20 hours a week and fix things, which I did.

The golf bug finally got to me. I loaded my clubs on to a cart and went out to the course (by myself). I didn’t want anyone to see what might happen. After that day, I have played four or five times. Mostly nine holes. 18 holes is really too much for my body, but I can play 9 and still be OK. My priorities are completely different. I like being out there, I enjoy the other guys, the fellowship, the course. Maybe the golf isn’t too great, but what the heck, I am out there and I can still have fun.

It is my choice whether I have fun or not, right?

• July 10, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Way to go Dick, that is awesome.
      I was a scratch golfer 8 years ago when I decided to put the clubs up and focus on coaching my two daughters in basketball. I figured I could always golf again when they got out of high school and I had the time and desire again. Playing at at a high level is incredibly time consuming and “selfish” as you know.
      Well the summer my 2nd daughter graduated I contracted CIDP. Its now 2.5 years later and I have not had the courage to even try golfing or hitting balls.