Does Anyone Have Any Suggestions For Filing For Disability?

• Anonymous
      November 14, 2006 at 7:26 pm

Hi, I’m New To Post. I Was Diagnosed In The Begining Of This Year. I Have Been Off Work Since Jan. Of 2005. I Was Waiting To File For Disability In Hopes I Would Recover Fast And Get Back To Work. Well It Doesn’t Look That Way. Has Anyone Else Filed? Did You Have A Difficult Time Recieving It? Were You Denied And Then Had To Hire A Attorney To Resubmit? I Would Love To Hear Any Suggestions. I Had To Face The Fact That I’m Not Superwoman And Now It’s Time To Apply. Any Information Would Be Greatly Appreciated.
      Thanks,
      Vic

• Anonymous
      November 14, 2006 at 8:09 pm

Hey Vic,

If you are talking about SSI/SSD, having been through it, I would recommend an attorney if only to save you alot of time and grief. I just wanted someone else to handle it so I could concentrate on getting better. If I can be of any help feel free to private message me or email me and I would be happy to help any way I can.

Jerimy

• November 15, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Yes I applied in 1996 and got it on the first try. My Neurologist wrote that my disability was complete and permanent. He also stated that this was his and the hospitals position. I also had a letter from Mayo stating that I had some form of GBS( which was actually CIDP)
      Good Luck
      Bill W

• Anonymous
      November 15, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Hello:

If you search this forum back a month or so, you will find other threads related to thisd topic. I relayed my experience and advice in detail on those threads, but to paraphrase – if your disability is severe, and your doctor will sign a concise cover letter that details your disabilities and HOW THEY PREVENT YOU FROM DOING WORK FOR THE NEXT 12 MONTHS MINIMUM – then, you should be in good shape to file.