CIDP and exercises

• Anonymous
      July 13, 2006 at 8:47 am

Hi Everyone,

I have just been diagnosed with CIDP, so I’m not very knowledgeable about this disease. A lot of bitter thoughts, of course, but the worst thing is not to know what to expect and how to behave. I am a Personal Trainer, former athlete, boxer, and my usual way to deal with any health problem is to work out through it. This time I’m kind of confused. I feel significantly weaker, especially my hands, forearms and feet, and generally exhausted. Should I be burning what’s left or preserve? If anybody has any experience to share with me, I’ll be most grateful.

Alex

• Anonymous
      July 13, 2006 at 9:43 am

Alex, can certainly sympathize with your shock — I was just diagnosed, too, and I’ve bailed from my normal gym routine. Will be interested to know what others think about exercise…

• Anonymous
      July 13, 2006 at 10:44 am

I don’t know about everybody else but I do know when I over do it I usually feel it the next day . I to use to be a pretty good athelete but now I have a hard time keeping up with my 10 year old daughter. Everbody is different you have to try and see how far you can push yourself.But then make sure you get lots of rest . you can’t get enough rest.

• Anonymous
      July 13, 2006 at 12:56 pm

I have had CIDP for 4 years…I am just now getting back into my exercise routine that I had before. It seemed like every time I tried in the past to exercise that I would relapse. So my advice is to start out slow and be careful not to overdue.

I just had a doctors appt. last week and I am just now getting reflexes back and I am feeling pretty good about that.

My treatments of IV-IG are spread out to every 9 weeks now and I take neurotin to help with the tingling.

Good Luck

• Anonymous
      July 13, 2006 at 1:24 pm

Hello,