BIG BIG, little improvement!

• Anonymous
      July 5, 2007 at 6:58 pm

Hello Family,
      None of my “big little improvements” were coming to me and I allowed myself to GIVE UP for more then a year, so I lost some of the abilities and improvements that I had gained two years ago. I’m trying to fight my way back up again and today I got on my bed and managed to get myself in a crawl position and I raised myself straight up on my knees. I HAVE NEVER DONE THAT BEFORE! The next step is to just try and see if my legs are now strong enough to raise me up to a standing position. I’ll be on my bed, so I’ll be very very safe should I collapse.

NEVER NEVER NEVER GIVE UP! WE DO HAVE HOPE!

• Anonymous
      July 5, 2007 at 7:28 pm

CodyStanley

Excellent news!!! You are doing great…

Might I also suggest that, if you use a wheelchair, go into your kitchen and
      go up to the sink, lock the wheels to the chair and put your hands over the
      part of the counter with your fingers inside the sink…pull yourself up and
      try to stand up…it could take a few tries…stand up as long as you can,
      then s-l-o-w-l-y ease back down.

Try this several times a day. My PT’s say that the longer you can stand up
      the better, any weight on the legs help them to strengthen the muscles.

I have only been able to walk, with my PT’s, 25 feet with a walker, but, I
      can stand at the sink for five minutes.

I have a lot of exercises for you, in and out of bed.

Good news…but be very careful on the bed…

Miami Girl

• Anonymous
      July 5, 2007 at 8:34 pm

Liz,

that is awesome….I am so happy for you !!!!!! Amazing how what seem to be little things are so huge and feel so good when accomplished.
      Best wishes with continued improvement !

Stacey

• Anonymous
      July 5, 2007 at 8:52 pm

[FONT=”Comic Sans MS”][SIZE=”6″][COLOR=”Blue”]Liz,
      Congratulations!!! Keep going[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT] ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

• Anonymous
      July 5, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Whoo-hoo! You Go Girl!