anyone from massachusetts??

• Anonymous
      August 11, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Hi all,

this is my first post. hopefully i don’t mess it up.

guess you can guess why i’m here. still not positive if it’s gbs or cidp. but i will have my first ivig tomorrow morning.

i’ve been reading post by post, story by story. we’re all in this together, eh?

so, i will tell you this much. i’ve read the posts on ‘alternative’ treatments, and will tell you that i am an organic farmer, practicing herbalist, practice homeopathy, and have raised my children without pharmaceuticals. i’ve also worked at a natural pharmacy as the consulting ‘witch doctor’ and nutritionalist.

i started having symptoms in jan 08, and finally got diagnosed at the ms clinic at beth israel in boston.(one of the few western medicine clinics that recognize complimentary treatments) unfortunately, i was ‘kicked out’ ’cause i don’t have ms, and now am in the regular neurological department, which lacks the compassion and recognition to treat the patient, not the symptom. I have been doing some supplements that help my hand strength, and fatigue, help with sleep, and allow me to take larger stride steps, which i need a cane to assist with.

i think personal choice in treatment is like personal choice in anything else, religion, politics, etc etc etc. doesn’t make one right and one wrong, just different. i plan on trying the ivig, but will also utilizes the other modalities that will be useful. accupunture, massage, herbs, and nutrional supplements (because our food lacks nutrition).

i hope we can all use this community to share info and support each other. this disease sucks big time, and I thank the posters for all the info that they share. it sure has enlightened my knowledge of the disease, and i know it will continue to do so

Dawn

• Anonymous
      August 11, 2008 at 3:46 pm