ANYONE EXPERIENCING GBS (patient or caregiver)

• February 18, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Hi, I am a student currently enrolled in an Occupational Therapy program. I was assigned to research GBS (symptoms, prognosis, treatments, current research, etc.) and the impact it has on a patient and their life. I am required to interview a patient or caregiver that has personally experienced this horrible disease. I reached out to family and friends, but no one I spoke with had heard of this disease. I am hoping that someone here may be able to help by contributing to my interview. I will be presenting to my classmates a summary of the interview and all of the information I have gathered. This assignment is to help future therapists become more aware of this disease and multiple therapeutic interventions to help those suffering. Thank you and God Bless.

• GH
      February 18, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Where are you located?

• February 18, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Thank you for your response, the assignment does not require a face-to-face interview. I can email the list of questions I have devised for you to review and answer.

• GH
      February 18, 2017 at 11:23 pm

A few years ago, this organization published a pamphlet for therapists to help them understand the disorder. You should start by getting a copy of that. I’ll see if I can find a reference for it, but the headquarters might know what it is anyway.

• GH
      February 19, 2017 at 12:10 am
    • February 19, 2017 at 8:44 am

Thank you for your help. I contacted the organization and read through the brochure they sent. However, my assignment requires me to gain personal insight to how this disease can impact a person’s life. I have added the interview questions below if anyone is interested in participating. I will be more than happy to email the questions as well. I would love to add a your personal experience to my GBS presentation. (HIPPA is respected and no identifying information will be added). Thank you in advance.