Alternatives complimented my recovery.

• Anonymous
      March 27, 2009 at 10:56 pm

I am an acupuncturist. When my symptoms began. I did some research and figured out what it was. I took lots of hot jetted tub baths and got acupuncture right away. Acupuncture is great for neurolgical dxs.

I am new to having GBS but might actually have CIDP. I got treatment while I was in my most acute phase of the first attack of what was dx as GBS. That evening of my most acute phase of the GBS, i broke out in a sweat on the table during treatment, the symptoms felt worse shortly and then I went to bed and woke up feeling totally normal. My symptoms would come back in milder different forms but with more treatments they would go away. ..I never had to be admitted into a hospital, or do any allopathic therapies. It was after my acute phase that went to the neurologist who dx me with GBS. I did lose my right achilles tendon reflex. My case was mild, but I do believe that had to do with the acupuncture. I was in a lot of pain, was having trouble walking, was numb in my hands, feet, face and at times my entire outside body. I had some SOB, a feeling a slurred speach, all over weakness and began to feel as it was moving inward. …Then I got lazy with my treatments. I only did about 4-5 tx.

Gradually I was feeling well enough that I stopped. Now 1 year later -Many symptoms are back now so I am just about to start up treatment again ,,,if I have CIDP… it sure beats -predisone and immune suppressors. I am back to see my neurologist soon.

I hope my story helps. Feel free to ask me questiosn about Acupuncture anytime. I lived in China and have been practiticing for 12 years now. I saw people on the forum unsure about some of these alternatives… I hope I can help answer questions.

• Anonymous
      March 30, 2009 at 3:44 pm

Hi Jessica!