Abdominal muscle spasm and pain

• February 5, 2017 at 8:31 am

I’m 10 years out with CIDP. I have significant pain in my feet and legs. I’m a university professor, but have had to go on half-time medical leave.

In the past year, there have been three new developments: loss of appetite and weight, increased fatigue, and a new kind of pain. This pain is associated with some odd kind of abdominal spasm. I will be laying in bed, maybe getting a few twitches in my limbs, when suddenly my stomach muscles tighten, pulling all of my limbs inward. Then, nothing. Everything is relaxed and back to normal. Wait, a little hint of a twitch. Then a stronger twitch where I hold the stomach muscles in for a few seconds, voluntarily. Then relaxed. A minute later: “Ughhhhhhh,” I involuntarily moan as my stomach flexes, and I go a little fetal on the bed.

Then the guttural bursts start, sort of as if I was being punched in the stomach. If my wife is not in the house, I sometimes let loose with a long cry, moan, whimper, or yelp. The best thing to do is to get out of bed and shake it off. Vaping some MJ helps. The opiates I take on a strict schedule, so I don’t know how much effect they have at any given time.

What kind of pain am I experiencing here? My usual pain feels like I am standing in 15″ of cool water, with a faint electrical charge humming in the background. This new pain is less constant, is associated with abdominal spasms or flexing, and doesn’t produce any hot/cold/electrical pulses, tingles, or bursts.

As I mentioned above, this pain started in the past year, along with decreased appetite and much greater fatigue than in the past.