Will symptoms get worse if not treated

• Anonymous
      October 12, 2006 at 6:36 pm

Sorry if I’m repeating a question that has been asked often in the past. But I’m new to this – have all the symptoms but have not yet been diagnosed with GB. Will my symptoms continue to get worse without treatment or accurate diagnosis?

• Anonymous
      October 12, 2006 at 6:56 pm

Gabby,

If you have CIDP, GBS or one of the variants, the symptoms will continue to get worse because your immune system will continue to attack your nerves. Treatment is always started asap to minimize any damage to your nerve or the myelin coating. Be persistant and push for a definitive diagnosis so treatment is started asap if in fact it is needed.

Jerimy

• Anonymous
      October 12, 2006 at 9:13 pm

hi gabby & welcome,

ditto jerimy. demand an emg/ncv. if the ncv shows damage, they should Dx you as gbs & start ivig yesterday. you will get worse until your immune system stops producing the bad gbs antibodies. take care. be well.

gene gbs 8-99
      in numbers there is strength

• October 15, 2006 at 5:01 pm

ABSOLUTLY, your symptoms will continue to get worse as your body continues to attack and kill nerves. Soon you will not be able to walk and maybe not breathe.
      Find a nuerologist that knows about GBS; immediately.
      I don’t want to be a worry monger but things can happen quickly….
      AND if you have GBS; the sooner the progression through your body is stopped the better and more complete will be your recovery.
      AL

• Anonymous
      October 15, 2006 at 7:36 pm

Just want to add my voice to the chorus. GBS will continue to get worse until it has run it’s course in your body, unless you get treatment. It allowed to run rampant, you can end up with a worse case, longer recovery, and possibly more residual problems, some of them permanent.

Don’t take no for an answer when it comes to pushing for a diagnosis. Time is your enemy with this disease.

Best wishes, Suzanne