What can I do?

• Anonymous
      August 14, 2006 at 7:21 pm

I am an occupational therapist in a LTAC. I just evaluated a man today with Miller Fisher GBS. I know there has to be something I can do to facilitate faster return of his facial/occulomotor muscles, but I can’t seem to find anything, yet. I know how persistant I am so I am not giving up, for sure! I was just wondering if anyone knows if Neuro-Muscular stimulation is helpful and or Active-Assissted Range of Motion. I knwo someone knows something and I would appreciate the nudge in the right direction.

DeAnne

• Anonymous
      August 21, 2006 at 6:12 am

DeAnne, I admire your persistence, something we all look for in our therapists. Unfortunately you cannot make a muscle work if the nerve supply to it is damaged as in GBS and MF variant.
      Fortunately those with MF variant usually make a quicker recovery than GBS alone. Fatigue temporarily increases weakness so plenty of rest is most important.
      We all look for something that speeds recovery and many here have tried all sorts of therapies. All that can be done from a medical point of view is to inhibit further deterioration. Repair to the myelin sheath takes time and our body’s own repair kit does this. DocDavid (CIDP)

• Anonymous
      August 21, 2006 at 9:52 am

I had Miller-Fisher. For me, Hope was the kicker. Let your patients know that the odds are way in their favor that they will recover and that the chances of relapse are slim. Statistics support this.

Therapists used electrical stimulation on my face but I do not know what value it had. For stimulation, I used a frozen bag of peas, 15 minutes each side several times a day. I used a tool that was designed to pry the mouth open a little at a time but I found it to be useless. From my experience I believe it just has to take its course. I do know that after I could see and was able to care for myself, progress accelerated.

• Anonymous
      August 21, 2006 at 12:50 pm

DeAnne —