Vaccine Related GBS/CIDP

• Anonymous
      May 20, 2006 at 1:21 pm

My husband Frank was one of so many to get GBS/CIDP from the “Flu Vaccine”

I know we have quite a few of our old members who developed GBS/CIDP from other vaccines too.

• Anonymous
      May 20, 2006 at 3:01 pm

I will back Brandy on the flu shots. For me, I will let the facts speak for themselves. I worked in a hospital, so it was almost mandentory that we get the flu shot. I got my yearly flu shot in November, 1997. In March, 1998 I was showing the very early signs of CIDP. Not knowing what I had yet, I got another flu shot in November, 1998. Within a weeks time, I was literally knocked off my feet. The neurologist who diagnosed me said “never get the flu shot again”. My family doctor would not approve a flu shot, as well as a walk-in-clinic.

That’s enough to convince me, plus I listen to my inner feeling. I will not get a flu shot. One thing I will never know, would I have had a much milder case of CIDP, had I not gotten that shot in 1998?

• Anonymous
      May 20, 2006 at 7:52 pm

although it is an individual’s choice, i say no to flu shots. take care. be well.

gene gbs 8-99
      in numbers there is strength

• Anonymous
      May 21, 2006 at 7:45 pm

The only tme I had the flu shot was after GBS and I was fine. I also hadn’t, at that time, much knowledge.

I would not take the flu shot now. Firstly because of GBS. Secondly, because I think it contains quite a lot of hogwash.

Going on memory (which isn’t the best) what goes into next years flu shot is decided this year – so it’s a ‘best guess’ job.

Considering that the flu virus mutates I have yet to understand how the vaccine was EXACTLY the same from one year to the next, only recently.

True influenza is apparently relatively rare. ‘Chest infection’ does not equal influenza.