Recently Diagnosed

• Anonymous
      December 27, 2007 at 5:50 pm

I’m new to the GBS Forum as this is my first post. I wanted to share my story and receive any comment or suggestion for care or treatment.

I’m a 58 year old male. In May 2007 I suddenly began experiencing loss of function in my legs, weakness in my knees, numbness in my feet and pain from my low back to my feet. After suffering with no relief for three days, I worsened to the point that I presented myself at a local hospital emergency room. To the emergency room doctor I explained that I had an existing back condition but added all the new issues of leg weakness, numbness in the knees, and feet. The doctor ordered an MRI which was ultimately scheduled as an outpatient for the next morning. Over the ensuing six months I saw a back surgeon, orthopedic neurologist, and my personal family physician. The first plan was to clear the spine and rule in or out any mechanical issues of the spine which could be causing my symptoms. This resulted in nerve conduction tests, EMG, Myelogram, CT scan and multiple MRI’s. At the conclusion of all these tests the back surgeon reconfirmed the issues with my back but said that none of the tests identified the cause of the problems with my legs. Ultimately the orthopedic neurologist suggested that I find a neurologist which specialized in neuromuscular disorders. This was at the six month point since I had first been hit with the illness.

I found a good neuromuscular neurologist and after a medical history, examination of the previous medical test results and physical exam, he suggested that we rerun the NC and EMG because I was reporting improvement in my legs, even though they were still pretty bad and I was still walking with a cane. He also wanted to see the films from a Thoracic MRI and the lab report for the analysis of the spinal fluid which was removed at the time of the Myelogram.