Pulling Back from the Brink

• Anonymous
      November 23, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Can I ask other caregivers how you help your loved ones in their most despondant hours?
      My husband gets very sore the week prior to his 6 week time frame for IVIG for his CIDP. Nothing helps the pain. Today, for Thanksgiving, we had to decline 2 invites for dinner- I cooked at home, and he was in bed all day. He is so sore he just wants to ‘end it all’. This is a cycle which comes usually right before the IVIG is due.

How do you support your loved ones? How do you keep positive? How do you keep the suicidal thought monsters at bay?

I’m in a small town, and there are no counsellors or support groups. I’m a professional, and thought I could help us both through this- but sometimes it gets so hard.

Thanks for your help,

Sigrid and Todd

• Anonymous
      November 23, 2006 at 10:46 pm

Hi Sigrid,

I’m from Smyrna, TN, but I moved to Chicago seven years ago where I met my fiance who got GBS in 2/05.

I know what you mean about watching your husband deal with his pain. I tell Ben all the time that when he hurts, I hurt too. I don’t think there’s anything I can really do when Ben is in excrutiating pain and just wants to be left alone, but when he’s feeling good, I try to make those times really count by letting him know how much I love him and that my life wouldn’t be the same without him. It also helps that Ben is very religious. A few weeks ago when he was in a lot of pain and could only think about wanting to end it, he stopped for a moment and said a prayer. That got him through the night, and 24 hours later, after he was full of medication and no longer in pain, he was glad to still be around. It also happened to be his 39th birthday, and I was able to spend the night with him in his hospital room where we stayed up talking all night long. What had started out as a nightmare for us ended up being something very special that we will always remember.