Pt And Ot Ideas

• Anonymous
      August 1, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Hi

I am fairly new to this whole thing. I have spent 2 weeks inpatient for OT and PT at a very good facility, then I relapsed and am having to start all over again. I chose a different facility for my rehab because I felt my medical needs out weighed the rehab need.

Unfortunately this is a facility that has limited equipment and knowledge about CIDP, but the staff is great. i love them very much.

I am just curious as to what has worked for everyone else, what excersizes, activities have you found most beneficial. I am not talking about the basics either. I am talking about more advanced, we did baking and lots of WII Tennis for my hip weakness.

Anything you can think of for me to present to the therapist would be greatly appreaciated.

Jason

• Anonymous
      August 1, 2010 at 6:32 pm

You know one of the main things in PT is not overdoing it. My PT was so intense that I too quit and just started home theropy. I worked until I knew I had enough not to wear me down. Most theropist who are unfamiliar with GBS/CIDP do not understand this. God bless and we’ll keep you in our prayers.

• Anonymous
      August 2, 2010 at 9:35 am

I was first patient with GBS at rehab facility. On the consultation visit I gave them a pamphlet from the GBS/CIDP foundation to read and understand GBS/CIDP.
      Gave them instructions rehab doctor had given me for physical limitations in rehab. Started lightly, after 15 to 20 minutes I was to rest for 10 minutes. Started slowly on bike with very little tension for 10 min. Started with 5 lb weights for arms and legs 10 minutes at a time. My weight was 105 lbs at that time and I was very weak so this was a good starting point for me.
      Eventually I could go the hour without rest and the tension and weights were increased.