Pain – What do you do to manage?

• Anonymous
      December 30, 2010 at 8:56 pm

I am in month 18 of GBS and I just recently weaned off of the Fentanyl pain patch (yikes, that was hard!). I have since realized that my lower back pain is pretty bad. If I am “up” and about (keeping myself distracted), I tend to manage the pain better. I choose not to take my OxyIR until I take my bedtime meds because I don’t want to be loopy with my kids – been there, done that! :p But, by 3:00 p.m., I am really hurting.

What do you do to manage your pain?

Thanks!
      Allsmiles ๐Ÿ˜€

• Anonymous
      December 31, 2010 at 4:01 pm

I’m not an expert but you may want to talk to your doctor about getting a longer oral acting pain medication, You may also want to investigate looking at a regiment that would have a lower dosage during the day and a hight dosage at night to let you sleep. Hopefully someone with more expertise will be able to help you

• Anonymous
      January 1, 2011 at 5:49 pm

I have thought so many times about getting off my fentanyl patch or at least trying a lower dose. My pain doc won’t go near this but I think he really doesn’t know how to taper.

Good for you tapering off. Do see about better pain meds to control it. Pain is no fun. At night mine tends to be worse too.

• Anonymous
      January 2, 2011 at 1:32 pm

I have CIDP and use gabapentin.

• Anonymous
      January 2, 2011 at 5:53 pm

[FONT=”Microsoft Sans Serif”]~ i still have pain and have been trying to rack my brain to find a medicine that i can take while working (as a cop) – they ain’t going to go for the opioid stuff ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

i have been reading about nsaid’s — but i feel motrin won’t be strong enough. i see that they now have some called cox-2 inhibitors… celebrex, for example, but it has this nasty little side effect of causing heart attacks for some. while i don’t have a heart condition, i don’t care for the idea–
      maybe there are others of the same ilk??