Newly Diagnosed in January

• Anonymous
      February 7, 2007 at 7:18 pm

I am just learning about GBS. My almost 2 year-old daughter had RSV at the end of December and we think that was the virus that I had contact with that started all of this. My first appreciable signs began 1/5/07. My diagnosis at this point is probably GBS. I am really frustrated. I feel like I am seeing a good/competent neurologist, but this is really a damnable condition. It began with feeling like I was going to faint just a couple of times when I went from sitting to standing (thought it was just normal change in blood pressure). My legs felt a little wobbly. I felt fatigued, but what mother of a toddler doesn’t feel that way? Anyway, the “fainting” episodes increased over that weekend until Monday I felt like I was going to faint even when I was laying on the floor. I had major pins and needles in my hands and feet and face. I went to Primary Care. He referred me to from here on our referred to as Idiot Neurologist that I was seeing for migraine headaches. He prescribed prednisone. It did nothing. He set up an MRI to rule out MS, etc. Things just kept escalating. After a week I kept getting weaker and where it was pins and needles it became numbness and then pain and numbness. Idiot Neurologist prescribed pain medicine, but didn’t hasten the MRI or do anything else to diagnose or alleviate my now near panic at the fact that I could practically not ambulate at all. I am lucky enough to work with a pediatric neuroligist who I called for advice when I couldn’t even get Idiot Neurologist to call me back with MRI results that I had rushed and faxed to his office. BTW, he NEVER called- EVER with any results- I NEVER heard another word from the man when I left his office in a wheelchair. Anyway, the pediatric neurologist that I work with told me that I needed to go to the Emergency Room. I went. I was admitted on a Friday. They read the results of the MRI- no MS- no lesions- everything benign.