New member….recent bout with GBS

• Anonymous
      April 28, 2008 at 7:21 pm

My exposure to GBS began this past March 19.
      I am a truck driver. I was about done with my 12 hour shift. I went to get out of the cab and when my feet hit the pavement it felt as if my legs were asleep.
      I was extremely alarmed as I had never had anything like this happen to me before. I went home and my legs stayed numb, very difficult to walk.
      I became very ill during the night. My tree pollen allergies had kicked in big time, and my head was blocked, ears ringing, felt like the flu was coming on.
      I went to the doctor who took my temp and I had no fever. He told me I probably had a viral infection and it had to run it’s course. He said my legs probably felt weird from the dizzyness I was having. I was extremely weak and felt like I was going to die. I went home and went to bed.
      Over the next week I treated it as if I had a bug, but deep down I knew this was more serious. Over the next week the bug cleared up, but my legs stayed numb. Still very difficult to walk. By end of week 2 my hands and arms were also numb. They were tingling and just felt really weird. I could not pick up small items as my fingers refused to do what I wanted them to do. Then a few days later my mouth and face began to feel wierd. Tingling and the same weird sensation. No one seemed to notice the difficulty I was having pronouncing certain words and letters. I had to slow everything way down.
      During week 4 my legs slightly improved. Arms, hands and face stayed the same. Last week I noticed some improvement in my hands and arms. I am having less trouble signing my name.
      It appears that some feeling is now starting to return to legs, arms, hands and face.
      I still can’t run, but my walking stride has improved a bit. It’s a very slow progress. Last week my doctor confirmed I have GBS.