New GBS sufferer, my story after 18 months; advice please!!!

• Anonymous
      May 12, 2009 at 3:22 pm

Hi all

This is only my third post around here. I joined this forum on Monday 11th May 2009.

If I may I’d like to share my experience of being a GBS sufferer and I’d also like a bit of advice.

I got struck down by GBS late November 2007 whilst in Belgium (Europe). I live and was born in England, UK.

First off, my professions. I’m a qualified concert pianist, and I’m also a professional video producer (TV cameraman). Both of which have come to an end; though the latter, I’m starting to get back into now.

After reading through the many threads on here, I suspect I have been quiet lucky.

This is how it happened to me. I was on a filming job at Arsenal football club in the UK in mid November, it was cold and whilst filming outdoors all day I picked up a cold. That week I was incredibly stressed out, I was feeling very low and was somewhat depressed and run-down i.e. my immune system was probably a bit low and not functioning right.

I then drove over to Belgium and a week later whilst eating a meal at the table I suddenly felt like I’d been drugged, my arms and legs felt very weak, 10 minutes later I sloped sideways and fell off my chair and onto the floor. My (then) girlfriend called an ambulance and the paramedics came after 10 minutes; they took my vitals and said I was fine. They asked if I had been stressed or overworked, I said yes and they just told me to get some rest.