Need advice

• Anonymous
      January 16, 2007 at 10:53 am

Dear Readers,
      I was diagnosed with GBS in August 2006 and remain unable to walk and have great difficulty using my hands. I am confined to a wheelchair. My problem is that I have run out of disability leave (money) and have not heard from SSD as of yet, although I have called them every two weeks and contacted my congresspeople. I will be evicted at the end of February from my apartment. As well as losing my disability benefits, I will lose my health insurance. I know that we all suffer from these financial issues when illness strikes.
      My doctor says that he won’t even consider releasing me for work until at least September, 2007. I am a special education teacher and my job is waiting for me whenever I call the school system. I am seriously thinking about finding a doctor who will sign a return to work form and return to my job in March, 2007. I know that this is going to be a very tough option as the commute is 2 hours each way and being a special education teacher, believe or not, is a very difficult position.
      I still get fatigued easily, but I am talking about financial survival here. I have tried every state and county agency in both Delaware and Maryland to no avail. Both states tell me that I have to wait until I am evicted and have no means of support before they can help me. While I understand this, if I am evicted I have no place to go but the street. I believe that returning to work in March is my only option. I want your advice. Most of you have had GBS longer than I have and I am desperate for advice for those who have been or are in the same boat as me.
      Thanks for your time and concern to my situation.

• Anonymous
      January 16, 2007 at 3:56 pm

Greetings Binky,