Logan has never been "described" before… or have they? *Please read

• Anonymous
      April 16, 2008 at 10:17 am

I need your help. My son died February 19th. He was seven months old.
      I’m very bitter because we have no diagnosis and nothing has ever been described like Logan before… until I read about GBS! Now I’m not a doctor and have only a fraction of their knowledge. I have mentioned GBS to a neonatologist before and it was blown off. I could be onto something or I might not?
      Here are is a small amount of information:

Discharge diagnoses:

Term newborn now day of life 193 with a PCA of 66 weeks
      Chronic hyponatremia, etiology unknown (Chronic SIADH)
      Failure to thrive
      Hypotonia
      Abnormal magnetic resonance imaging and spectroscopy
      Intermittent urinary retention, unknown etiology
      Right ventricular hypertrophy (likely from being ventilated too long)
      Hypertension
      Minimal posterior subluxation of hips (Probably from being low tone)
      Gastric dysmotility
      Scoliosis (Like due to low tone)
      Elevated liver function tests
      Eczema
      Rule out mitochondrial disorder (which from my understand has been ruled out since the discharge)

from my delivery, I had prolonged ruptured membranes. I was admitted at term with a fever. As soon as they hooked me to the monitor Logan’s heart-rate was in distress. He stabilized and they delivered me via c-section the following morning. Once he was delivered he went into respiratory distress and was dx w/ PPHN. Everything went downhill after that.

He has an abnormal MRI. He’s had four and the last MRI showed white matter volume loss. Could be degenerative or could of been the 10 minute code he had the month prior. Now I am merely speculating.