If CMT bloodwork came up negative, then what?

• Anonymous
      August 16, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Our 2 years olds partial CMT came back negative for the gene mutation underlying CIDP.

If I am still concerned if our family is carrying other autoimmune genes (we have RA, type 1 diabetes, CIDP and autism) is there another test that can be run for that?

Thanks,
      Lori

• Anonymous
      August 16, 2006 at 7:00 pm

Hi Lori

You are the first person that I’ve seen post about CMT and CIDP together. Granted, I’m really new to this…

I think we must have some special bond — I have a sister, Lori, a son with type 1 diabetes and hashimotos, and a family full of CMT! AND I went to my neurologist to confirm the CMT and came away with a diagnosis of CIDP and a round of IVIG.

Am curious about what this means: Our 2 years olds partial CMT came back negative for the gene mutation underlying CIDP. How did you suspect partial CMT?

• Anonymous
      August 17, 2006 at 11:15 am

I don’t even know what CMT means. Our neuro. did a partial CMT demylinating only test. I know it cost over $4000, I’m paying $1000 and Athena Diagnostics did the test. It took 1 month to get the results.

He did a CMT on another patient, a 12 year old girl I know in my hometown and it showed a strange gene thing. She started with CIDP about 1 year ago.

I know I sound stupid and sometimes I think I am (not really but this medical stuff drives me crazy).

Most of the time I think I should’ve became a doctor. Now I’m on the kick I should’ve became an attorney. I have a friend going through a messy divorce and I wish I could help her more than I am.

Thanks for your email. Lori

• Anonymous
      August 17, 2006 at 11:39 am

Lori,

I was just thinking about you guys the other day. I was hoping that you would post an update on Dell.

Here is a link to info on CMT which stands for Charcot Marie Tooth.
      [url]http://www.mdausa.org/disease/cmt.html[/url]