Home infusion problems

• Anonymous
      November 2, 2009 at 12:17 am

Deleted by poster

• Anonymous
      November 2, 2009 at 12:54 am

This is a real sticky wicket. I think you are better to use the list of problems that you have compiled and approach the nurses involved directly. Your neuro. will indeed address the problems with his nurses, but it is quite likely they will be told who complained (as that is the way things are done). If you haven’t clearly gone over the problems with the nurses involved, I think you are correct in thinking they will bare a grudge if you go to the neuro. and haven’t addressed it formally with them. Addressing it with them will be awkward, but I’m sure they would prefer that route. I am a retired nurse, and I too get appalled at the slack assed nursing skills of some nurses when he gets his IVIG. But generally he is pretty good at voicing his displeasure on the spot when something is not up to his standards. Several years ago we complained once to our doctor about the lack of hand washing from the nurses when they go from one patient to another. Doctor listened patiently and was supportive. Next time hubby went into the unit, the head nurse and assistant head nurse approached us with hands on hips and glaring facial expressions saying, “I understand you have a problem with the nursing care?” Very unpleasant scene and very uncomfortable and the nurses did bare a grudge thereafter. In hindsight, hubby should have been complaining as it happened i.e. Could you please wash your hands before you handle my IV? That is why he speaks up now as it happens.
      Laurel

• Anonymous
      November 2, 2009 at 3:06 am