GBS/ CIDP?

• July 22, 2016 at 2:55 am

A little more than a year ago I started having sensory issues in my lower extremities. It got to the point that my legs would remain numb for extended periods and was quite scary. I saw my dr and had some blood work done. I knew it wasn’t a circulation issue, I checked all my pulses constantly, as I am a registered nurse. I had a sleeve gastrectomy done in February 2015 and started running again at 6 weeks post op. I also was having trouble eating, so we bought it was nutritional. All that came back with some deficiencies, but not enough to cause my problems. It got so bad and the numbness got worse while running. I started to only use the treadmill at home . I was also loosing sensation. It felt like I had thick compression stockings from my feet up to my thighs. By July 17 I’d lost about 70 something lbs and went to the neurologist. He had treated me before . I had a torn rotator cuff and brachial plexus nerve injury that turned into Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/ Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy. The latter has no cure, but was/ is in remission thank GOD! He did many tests. I had no idea that it was affecting my motor skills, but apparently it was. He scheduled many tests and made a follow up in a week. He also asked me to not drive and said ,” I think you have GBS. You’re a nurse, you know how dangerous this can be. You call my office if there is any change. ” He also told me not to drive anymore and to bring my husband for the next visit. I don’t make the next visit. Four days later I went to the ER and was admitted. They first had me under stroke protocol. My motor skills started to deteriorate however, they weren’t really sure about the GBS. The attending neurologist was amazing but he would not do a spinal tap because he said he wouldn’t risk spreading my CRPS/RSD if it progressed to GBS, we would know. I respected him a lot more for that, because he could’ve ruined my life with one proceeedure. I don’t know it could spre