GBS and motor skills

• Anonymous
      October 11, 2006 at 6:27 am

Hi all,

I am new to this site and am recovering from gbs which i contracted in early August 06. I was very luck as i only have a mild case but even that has stopped me in my tracks. My question is my strength has returned on both sides of my body but on my left side my leg, hand and arm are only at about 60% where my right side is around 90 to 95%. today i went to the hospital for a check up and the doctors where concerned about my left side as they are saying that gbs normally effects both side equally. so they are going to do a mri scan on my brain to see if something else is going on. i have been playing guitar for 25 years but at present cannot move my fingers quickly enough to change chords or play single note lead parts. so my question is can gbs effect fine motor skills on one side of your body more then the other side.

If anybody could give me some info on this it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Greg from Melbourne Australia

• Anonymous
      October 11, 2006 at 8:01 am

Hi Greg,

GBS definitely can hit one side harder than another … in fact, just from my experiences, I believe that the majority of people do not have “equal” damage / recovery timeframes on right vs. left. Just from the stories and experiences that others have shared, I believe it is fairly common to have unbalanced symptoms and recovery. Personally, my right leg is still extremely weak, yet my left leg has full functionality even if not 100% of previous strength.

Best regards,
      doug

• Anonymous
      October 11, 2006 at 9:38 am

I agree with Swimmy, my experience was that my left side definitely recovered slower, PT said it was because I was right dominant and used it more. But the right side of my face took 3 years to get any movement and it was still healing and getting stronger 15 years later, so go figure. Good luck and warm thougts for your recovery.

• Anonymous
      October 11, 2006 at 9:52 am