exercise

• May 1, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Since I am still fairly new to all of this (it will be a year as of memorial day that this all started), I was curious if yall work out/exercise and if so, how far you push it? I had pretty bad GI symptoms and weight loss that preceeded all of this and was losing weight up until my first IVIG, which then stabilized everything.. I seem to have a bit of muscle atrophy in almost all muscles since every single muscle seems to have been effected and is therefore weak and shakey most of the time (though MUCH better than before IVIG)

I have always been in shape, so now I am just a bit flabby for my liking, but my problem is if I over exert myself one day I really seem to pay for it for at least a day afterwards- the muscles are sore and weak.. Does anyone else have this problem? Does that mean I shoudlnt’ work out, would it even be productive? I used to be a runner, and have the urge to run so badly, but I imagine that would especially be a bad idea right now.. thanks in advance, hope everyone is doing well

• May 1, 2012 at 7:29 pm

I remember at one of the semi-annual symposiums a physical therapist described how CIDP affects the muscle “motors”. She said that this meant that not all of a muscle was working. That this meant when we exercise we are not using the whole muscle and thus throwing more work/strain on the part we are using. That we should therefore exercise but take it easy to keep from over working that part of a muscle that is actually working.

I find that I can do a lot of “exercise” that I used to do but not for as long a time. I tire much more quickly than I used to.

Hope my memory is correct and that this helps you.

• GH
      May 1, 2012 at 8:01 pm

It’s a matter of pacing yourself. You do need to exercize, but must avoid overdoing it.