Drop Foot and nerve damage

• Anonymous
      December 3, 2011 at 3:49 am

About three weeks ago quite suddenly I was unable to place the heel of my left foot firmly on the floor and it became worse, so that now the shortest walk makes my foot just drop to the floor and the leg feels much weaker than the right. I have been receiving plasmapheresis every month for the last two years and doing well, adequate strenth, ability to walk and the substantial improvement of a swallowing problem. I simply do not understand my condition well enough to even guess at what has happened. Is this an indication that nerve damage continues despite treatment? Should it? How could it happen so fast? I could easily walk on my heels a month ago. Now the left heel will not function. I will, of course, be seeing my neurologist soon, but I would like to be prepared for the worst. Is this an indication that I have not yet reached my peek of disability? My fear is that it will happen to my right foot too. That would make walking very difficult. I’m elderly and any kind of recovery is slow and not easy for me. Should what appears to be peroneal nerve damage have occurred after so many treatments with Plasma Exchange? Would Ivig be any better? Sorry for all the questions. Please don’t get the impression that I’m full of self pity. I’m not. I’ve lived a long and good life. That I should be disabled now is almost to be expected. It’s my wife that I truly worry about. None of us wants to put our partners through struggles and I’d hate to be a greater burdon on mine anymore than I am already. How foolish some of this sounds: aren’t we all in the same boat? Thank you and please forgive the long post.

• Anonymous
      December 3, 2011 at 6:22 am

Gabriel, no need to ever apologize here; we are all in the same boat, and want only to give support to each other.