CIDP – early detection, remission, & relapse (an old thread – but really good) 5 part

• Anonymous
      May 8, 2006 at 7:31 pm

nrain98
      Early Detection of CIDP
      I am new to this whole medical scene in general. About 3 months ago I started experiencing tingling and numbness in my hands, which soon spread to my feet. I saw my GP who told me it could be carpal tunnel and to get a splint. I told him it was also in my feet so I doubt that carpal tunnel is the problem and we definitely need to look more into this. After about 1 month I was able to get a referral to the neuro. Then after waiting 3 weeks for an appointment I started getting weak and tired. Soon after my walking was impaired and i was holding onto walls and furniture so i wouldn’t fall down. I got a spinal tap and took a battery of blood tests and everything came out normal. Finally after 3 months and painful EMG tests the neurologist decided it was CIDP. They immediately put me on prednisone and neurontin. They also setup me up for an IVIG (I am currently in day 3 of a 5 day treatment).

I have been a healthy person my entire life and I think this all came about from a case of Strep Throat I had in March. I am in my mid-20’s and I am shock that this is happening to me. I can’t run or jump. I had to completely stop working out and it starting affecting my work. I am at a loss. Reading these threads I can’t imagine what some of you are going through. I am definitely functioning a lot better than most, but I do have some questions and concerns…
      1. Has anyone had a fairly quick diagnosis from begining symptoms to actual treatment?
      2. How well have you responded to treatment (and what is you treatment and what course are you on)?
      3. How long did it take to notice an improvement?
      4. What is the likelihood of making a full recovery or remission from CIDP? are relapses imminent?