Blacking out when standing?

• June 6, 2018 at 3:54 pm

Hi all! This is my first time posting in this forum.

I had GBS in late March 2017. I had a relatively fast and mild case (never completely lost ability to walk, didn’t need ventilator). My GBS was confirmed with a spinal tap, but I declined to have IVIG as I was improving so rapidly even in the hospital. Honestly I was scared to death and the ivig consent form freaked me out!

Anyhow, I and a fantastic recovery and I’m almost back to normal. I was just in San Francisco a few weeks ago, and walked like 3 miles with no problem. I still get a bit of muscle fatigue if I do something’s very strenuous.

My biggest issue is blacking out when standing up. It seemed to get better for awhile, now it’s worse again. It happens several times a day. I try to remember to get up slowly but it’s hard. I have 4 kids and it seems like I have to jump up quite often. I’m especially having trouble doing anything in the garden where I need to crouch down.

Should I see my gp or neurologist about this, or someone else? Has anyone else experienced this? Is it likely to go away?

Thanks so much!

• June 6, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Hi, I’d start with the GP to get a check-up to see if something else has popped up. How has your blood pressure been? Mine was always close to ideal until the GBS. And with 4 kids and a garden and who knows what else, you sound pretty busy. Maybe you are “overdoing it”? It is easy to push yourself to previous levels of productivity, especially when you’re feeling great. I’ve even noticed slight differences in stamina, balance, etc, just before that special time of the month.
      Depending on how busy your neurologist is, maybe make appointments with both. (To avoid a long wait between.)

• June 6, 2018 at 9:41 pm