bitter taste, ear banging symptoms anyone?

• Anonymous
      March 26, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Hi, I’m a newbie, writing on behalf of a dear friend whose now home from the hospital after being essentially diagnosed with GBS. He spent 3 weeks in the hospital, and is now home for 2. His main symptoms were top down: partial facial paralysis, double vision, nausea, headaches, back aches, some muscle weakness and tingling sensations. He’s getting some physio, has an eye patch to reduce the double vision ‘movies’ he sees. Some days are better than others, of course.

What he’s wondering is if others have not so much ear ringing but a banging and/or tingling sensations in their ears, and whether their taste is skewed towards bitter or citrousy sensations.

Thanks for any responses in advance.

• Anonymous
      March 26, 2009 at 8:49 pm

welcome to the forum. I have always had trouble with my ears so I don’t know if some of the sensations are from gbs or not. however, while in the hospital I didn’t have any taste for awhile, when it did start to return I remember the only thing I could taste for a long time was orange crush soda pop, then some chocolate and some extremely salty things like chex mix..since then my taste has pretty much returned to normal. tell him/her to be patient. this takes time

good luck and thanks for being such a good friend

• Anonymous
      March 27, 2009 at 10:39 am

Thanks Sherry for the helpful response. I’ll pass on your encouragement to my friend. It is good to know of others’ experiences who’ve gone on before us when affliction hits.

• Anonymous
      March 27, 2009 at 11:35 am

I have and have read anecdotally of many who have tinnitus [ringing in the ears] well prior and worse after GBS/CIDP.