Ben’s Thread

• Anonymous
      May 22, 2006 at 9:17 pm

You would think that as a computer scientist, I would have been skeptical enough to have backed up Ben’s thread. I didn’t. I just knew it would always be there. Now I’m nostalgic and broken-hearted that I don’t have a record of it anywhere.

I guess in some senses it fits. That part of our lives — and of Ben’s — is appropriately in the past. But if anyone out there has saved any portions of Ben’s thread, I would deeply appreciate it if you could let me know. I’d like to reconstruct what I can.

Since I’m here, I suppose I could help get things going again by providing an update on Ben. His life is still being affected by his experience with GBS. Now those effects are more subtle and indirect and positive.

You may recall that Ben was diagnosed with GBS in January 2003, three years ago. He spent 18 days in ICU and was trach’ed for a month. He spent a total of 9 weeks in the hospital and was walking in a walker by about this time three years ago. So much for the past.

Ben’s 13 now – a full-fledged teenager. This spring he tried out for the track team. Wasn’t very good, but didn’t quit, either. This Saturday he leaves for a solo trip to Arizona. That’s the story I want to tell here.

A year ago February I dragged my family to Maryville College, a small liberal arts Presbyterian college in the foothills of the Smokey Mountains, to hear the Moderator of the Presbyterian Church USA (he calls himself the part-time Presbyterian pope with no power) give a talk about globalization and world mission. Ben definitely didn’t want to be there. He made that as obvious as he knew how. 10 minutes into the talk, his demeanor had changed. He was listening intently as the moderator talked about encounters on the Mexican border and in Central America and about the Christian Peacemaking Teams and other opportunities for service.