Are symptoms of a relapse the same as the original attack…???

• Anonymous
      February 9, 2007 at 11:12 pm

Hi group…!!!

I am trying to figure out if I am having a relapse… My first attack (7/2005) involved excruiating pain in my arms and back of my legs which then moved to my hips and then up my back… I became progressively weaker and weaker with 5 to 8 weeks… When I was diagnosed in Sept, 2005 I thought I was regaining some of my strength… I slowly began to climb stairs and turn keys in locks, etc without having any treatments except some gabapentin for the pins and needles in my hands…

I seem to have stablized as far as strength goes, but I tire very easily… It is becoming harder and harder for me to continue teaching (special education)… Could this be a relapse even though the symptoms are not the same as my original attack..??? How can a person tell if they are having a relapse..???

Thanks…
      Aimee

• Anonymous
      February 10, 2007 at 12:39 am

I am no doctor, but I would say that you are probably not having a relapse. Fatigue is common to the majority of us, no matter how hard some are hit, or even those not hit so hard. I think you have an extremely demanding job (used to teach English before I got CIDP), and just need to rest as much as possible. I believe there would be signs of weakness if you were relapsing…

• Anonymous
      February 10, 2007 at 11:12 am

Hi Aimee,